Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 8, 2010 June 9, 2010

Filed under: Acrylics,Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:42 am
Tags: , , , , ,

My fascination with squares continues…a couple of months ago I read an article about an exhibit of paintings by Lee Krasner. This is a special exhibit of paintings she did after she and Jackson Pollock moved into the house that became the Pollock-Krasner House Museum. Pollock had a large space but the space allotted to Krasner was small. In this space Krasner did her early and possibly her best abstract expressionist paintings. They were a series called the Little Images. They are thouht of as small and jewel-like. My favorite is Shellflower which is bursting with color, light and excitement. When I read this article I found out that she had painted a Little Image called White Squares in 1948. It is in the Whitney Museum in NYC. This, of course, got me thinking about how I would paint white squares. I saw them as bright, full of light and flickering pastel color. When I saw an image of Krasners’s painting I was disappointed. It is hard edged and complex when I think of squares and geometry as simple, straightforward and clean. Anyway, I finally put my thoughts down in a painting. My painting is titled 30 White Squares.

30 White Squares

I am not sure if it is complete yet but itis very close. This painting is acrylic on yupo paper and measures 20″ X 24″.

 

7 Responses to “June 8, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    Ooooo, I love this one, Linda! Acrylic on yupo, eh? It has a wonderful effect and a dreamy texture! I really think you are on to something with your geometrical paintings!

  2. yeah, what Beth said. this direction has lots of potential (imo). i like the lines/edges you are getting – hard, soft, thick, thin, bold, disappearing, ragged, sharp – great variations that make exploring your line(s) a treat and fun. add to that the subtle variations of color and your excellent control of value to keep the white all in that light value range – wow, i like it – you have a lot going on in this. way cool. this work makes me think. i like that too! clicking it to make it big allows a much better look at what you are doing. very cool.

  3. stunning and subtle. love it. reminds me of david hockney when he did those huge paintings composed of squares of color on paper that he made by hand. i would love to see that in person

  4. Heather Says:

    WOW!!! I loved this painting the first time I saw it and love it more each time I look at it. It reminds me of a baby blanket, or a stain glass window, or Grandma Striebeck and her love of soft colors. Never knew a painting could make me feel so much and of so many good memories.

  5. Stephen Says:

    I find this pleasing to the eye – with some mystery – and compelling – lovely

  6. radioloveless Says:

    Linda, I love your work. The colors are beautiful.

  7. We have limestone ‘grike’s and ‘clints’ here in the north pennines. They remind me of this beautiful picture. I love your blog and your work. Please keep in touch.

    Best
    Keith


Leave a Reply

