Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 4, 2010 June 4, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sister hurt her knee and needed help, then I hurt my knee and then I hurt my back – boy has it been a tough week and a half. I have not been able to focus my energy on creating art or even practicing my skills. It is amazing how tired you get when you are in pain. Anyway I am recuperating now and had the time, energy and interest today to get something done. I miss being able to share my work and contribute to our lively discussions. And I need to start work on my Lighthouse…June 21 is rapidly approaching!

Over the last few days I have continued to putter around with the painting of Irises and it has improved somewhat. Leslie mentioned what she thinks about when working with dark purple and it led my down a productive path. Making small changes made a big difference!

Today I started studying a new book I bought on Chinese Calligraphy. It was recommended by Naomi (you can see her work at inkyarnandbeer.wordpress.com). The book provides instruction on five different styles of Chinese Calligraphy. I started at the beginning with the ancient pictograms. I was fascinated with the pictogram for Self. Chinese Calligraphy Pictogram for "Self"It is based on the human nose – the source of our breathe, the source of life. I am going to show two other sets that I worked on.

Two ways to write Clouds

Tears and Rain

The first is two different ways I found to write the word for Clouds. The second set is related but different. It includes the pictograms for Tears and Rain. This has been really fascinating and I am happy to be working with ink and brush again. It has been two months – way too long!

 

5 Responses to “June 4, 2010”

  1. absurdoldbird Says:

    This is very interesting, thanks for posting it.
    🙂

    Some years ago I did a one day workshop on chinese painting and that was really fun – somewhere I think I still have the paintings I did.

    I’m sorry you’re unwell, knee and back injuries are no fun… I hope you get better soon.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Excellent post! It does look like a nose! Have you tried to write a snippet of something with these ancient symbols? I think it would be fascinating to design something using them in waterproof ink and having a light painting in watercolor as a background.
    Hope you are out of pain, Linda, and good to see you back!

  3. I love the pictograms!

  4. whimsyway Says:

    I love Chinese calligraphy. We did a little for my son’s history lesson and now I’m wanting to learn more about it. Yours looks great. 🙂


Leave a Reply

