Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 24, 2010 May 25, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:44 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Oh my gosh, has it been a struggle! This painting has really given me fits but I THINK it is done. I started it by working on a wet-in-wet background as part of my demo at the Broad Ripple Art Fair. I painted the entire thing and decided that it was flat and boring because I did not have enough variation in my values. Plugging away over several days I got that fixed but then I decided that the color was very blah so I’ve spent the last day working on that. I think the painting is about as good as I can make it. I find dark purples to be hard to bring alive but I’m learning. I am not unhappy with it and I thought about cropping and making small paintings of the parts I really like. But then I decided to leave it alone…it is a quarter sheet size and I really didn’t want to cut it down because I’ve done so many small paintings lately. Anyway, here goes…

Purple Iris, 140# Arches Paper and Transparent Watercolor

 

15 Responses to “May 24, 2010”

  1. Artswebshow Says:

    this is a very impressive painting.
    I really like the deep colours you used

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I really like this. It says something about the coolness of being nestled in amongst all the tall grasses and leaves. I wouldn’t be so hasty to call it boring. It is largely a painting dealing with cool colors. It might be that that you are feeling, Linda. If you had wanted to do some popping with it, I find that oranges and yellows work nicely with greens and blues and purples. There is absolutely nothing wrong with a painting like this. I love what you do with flowers!

    • Hi Leslie, I had tried to incorporate some yellows and golds but there was not enough and you didn’t really notice them. I have done a little more with cad yellow, orange and red. It looks a little more lively and I think I am ready to stop tinkering. Thanks for your ideas. I think I need to be a little more bold with the contrasting colors. I seem to do it right and then for the next painting I lose my courage! Not intuitive yet…

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Whoops! Bad sentence in there in the middle. It might be that that is what you are feeling, Linda. That all cool color thing.

  4. cindyinsd Says:

    Oooh! Pretty! It was worth all the time you put into it. Loverly!

  5. Beth Parker Says:

    I thing it’s pretty, Linda. I love the purple with the light blues. 🙂 I can’t even imagine painting on a large surface. I need to do more of those, myself.

    • I was becoming very fascinated doing small pieces – ACT’s and 5X7’s. I had to make myself go larger. I get uncomfortable when I am becoming too comfortable with anything. Does that make sense?

  6. You have captured the irises perfectly I’m jealous. Some how flowers and I don’t mix. lol

    • I love your beautiful landscapes but I haven’t done any all year. I want to jump into them this summer. I get overwhelmed by all the choices! You are excellent at choosing a single center of interest. Thanks for your kind comment!

  7. CarolKing Says:

    I think you did a great job. I love all the blues, purples and greenish-blues together.

    • I have to remind myself that I can’t only use the colors I love – greens, teals, blues, the whole cool side of the palette – and that they look better with their compliments. Thank you for the encouragement!

  8. artimagica Says:

    Linda, the minute I got to your site I was taken in by the color of this piece. The color is WONDERFUL. A very beautiful piece. All your hard work paid off!

  9. Don’t you just love the ones that make your work. lol


Leave a Reply

