Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 16, 2010 May 17, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night I was reenergized and went back to the painting of Dogwood that I started at the Broad Ripple Art Fair. It has taken me most of the day (interrupted by one LONG trip to the grocery store) to finish the painting but I am pretty happy with it. Aren’t flowers a lovely thing to paint? They always put me in a happy mood – even when the rain has been falling all day and the dogs are bouncing off the walls. This painting is 9″ X 12″ and is on 140# Arches paper.

A Dogwood Spring

 

14 Responses to “May 16, 2010”

  1. artimagica Says:

    Hi LInda,
    This is BEAUTIFUL! The colors are so lovely and it just oozes spring. I also liked primary color #8. You’re right, people often think of soft colors when they think watercolor. It’s great to see one with a bold geometric design.

    • Heather Says:

      Oh that turned out beautiful. The soft color wash in the background works perfectly.

      • Thanks to both of you. I also started a watercolor of iris at the Art Fair that I will probably start working with today. I’ve started the background but it is still very incomplete. And I think I will pull out my orchid brush and work on a Sumi-e iris. Hope I find time today!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    You ask if flowers are fun to paint? I’m not so sure . I will say that there is something about your flower paintings that “SING”. You are very good at them! I love this!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    That is so pretty, love it! I agree, flowers are lovely things to paint.

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh my gosh, Linda!! This really is an amazing painting! The softness is something I have never learned how to do and it is wonderful!! Love it!

    • Beth, I think I made a process breakthrough with the Poppies I painted as part of SmallTownDad’s Spring Paint Out. I have never used mask much but I’ve found if I do I can get really nice merges of color for the background and, if needed I can get deep darks (has always been hard for me when working with watercolor.) Thank you for your kind words!

  5. Linda I’m so glad you went back to this painting and finished it. Wonderful blends of color and the flowers do have a light of life to them.

  6. aloha Linda – you’ve matched up the delicate handling of color to suit the delicate blossom subject. that kind of thinking helps make a work zing. and sing. both. cool on this. aloha – Wrick

  7. Linda. Nice blog. I love to see other people’s art work and learn as they do. I will keep checking in.

  8. CarolKing Says:

    Wow, this dogwood painting is just beautiful!


Leave a Reply

