Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 14, 2010 May 14, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:23 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I spent the last two days mapping out the competition schedule for the balance of the year. It is time to register for the major competitions and I have to be careful about where I show my paintings since most of them forbid paintings that have already been in a juried show. Now that I have this planned I can begin working on framing those I know will need framing.  The only year I competed actively was 2008. In 2009 I took time to study drawing, color theory and composition. I made that my focus and I feel like I have shown improvement…and have continued to improve through more frequent practice, drawing and painting this year (and thanks to all of you for your inspiration comments and support). Even with the ATC’s I make myself think about composition and color selection. I would be in heaven if I have a work accepted by the Hoosier Salon or Watercolor Society of Indiana for their annual juried show this year. Very difficult indeed…but if you never try…well you know how the saying goes.

Now just a comment on my poor little neglected circles and triangles…I think I mentioned that I struggled for a couple of years to find a good way to combine geometric shape and prismatic color. Last fall I found a way that I think is pleasing. I have done five paintings in this series and I started small (5″ X 7″) so I could work on the concept and not get overwhelmed by the size. The first work was a circle and NOT my ubiguitous square.

Geometry #4

The design is pretty simple. Next I tackled the square. Again I kept the design straight forward and simple in concept.

Geometry #5

Then came the triangle. It took me at least 2 weeks of sketching possible designs to find one that “felt right” and looked balanced. This type of work gives me great joy. I hope your find it interesting.

Geometry #6

 

5 Responses to “May 14, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    These are very interesting, Linda. Color, shape and design. Nice series. 🙂

  2. artimagica Says:

    I love these! There is a simplicity – yet the color is so deceptively interesting. Is this – dare I say – watercolor? KInd of looks it, but maybe not. Good luck with all the competitions. I think I need to regroup, much like you say you did, and take a few classes to refresh.

  3. Chris Carter Says:

    I enjoy the geometric prismatic paintings. Have you tried any large versions of these yet? I can imagine standing in front of one that is on a full sheet of watercolor paper. It would, most likely, take my breath away. The design of each has a strong, and quite different, emotional impact on me.

    • Hi Chris! I have done two 8″ X 10″ paintings but then I went off to work on other things. I did a circle and a square. I had planned to work my way up tin size increasing the complexity at the same time. Designing these is a fun thing to do while watching TV in the evening (big dancing with the stars fan!). Perhaps I should pull out my sketchbook and get to work. I will say I admire your perseverance, discipline and dedication. Your exercises and paintings always inspire me. Linda

  4. aloha Linda – i like the movement through color you are playing with in these. what i find most intriguing is the way the negative spaces are working here. they are beginning to pop and have an importance that balances with the designs. that excites me. i think there is a lot of potential to play with that space and still keep what you have going in the foreground shapes. this is where value can become such and important part of a work. cool. play on. – aloha – Wrick


Leave a Reply

