Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 7, 2010 May 8, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 10:38 am
Tags: , , , ,

A rainy, blowy, cold morning. Yuk! This has been another busy week. Today will be my fourth day at the Art Museum. I am doing two Family Tours today and am talking about Animals in Art in the Asian and American Galleries. I have heard that the Family Tours are very enjoyable to do and they are only 30 minutes each. This could be a great experience!

I have been painting this week but not very productively. I have been working on an ATC of a Dinosaur toy that my grandsons used to play with. For some reason this one has not gone well. I even scrubbed it out and started over using the “ghost” image. I am about to scrap it and start over. I did finish a 7″ X 10″ watercolor of a Bird-of-Paradise that went reasonably well. I think it is interesting even if I am not totally happy with my original drawing now that I see it painted.

Bird-of-Paradise

This was really an exercise in splashing paint on wet paper to help me loosen up after my problems with the ATC. I used mask to help hold the shape of the petals. Really relaxing experience. And I went for BOLD color! Kind of a slam! bam! pow! painting.

By the way the new Asian rotation at the IMA includes some absolutely beautiful scrolls from both Japan and China. I am going back to try my sumi-e cherry and plum blossoms again. I am really inspired!

 

6 Responses to “May 7, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Your slam! bam! pow! painting works. I love the colors, the shape and the whole feel of this! Do it again!

  2. Heather Says:

    Oh I love the depth of color you managed to get here.

  3. Gorgeous bold colors, the orange reflection on the leaves is so beautiful!

  4. Noel Garner Says:

    I love bold colour and this has got it in spadefuls. Nice.

  5. aloha Linda – yeah. you have the negative spaces pulling their weight in this one. great focal point placement allowing the eye to move easily within the work from dominant areas to peripheral areas and back again with fluidity. the overall movement is great yet the eye can explore within the boundaries of the painting and have no need to go elsewhere. cool on this. – aloha – Wrick

  6. Again, awesome color combination!


Leave a Reply

