Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 4, 2010 May 5, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been “enhancing” American Square as I find time. To you it probably looks the same but to me it looks more balanced. I defined the edges and worked on the range of values throughout each color section. Anyway I am happy with the painting and am MUCH happier with this photo.

American Square

I took the photo outside in natural light and it solved many of the problems I’ve been having. Thank you all for your help and advice. Yupo is a very challenging surface to both paint and photograph.

I think am going to start a small floral today. Ken and two of the canine critters had oral surgery yesterday so I am nursing the sickies. I have so many prescriptions to manage that I finally had to write it all down. Isn’t the mind the first thing to go???

 

3 Responses to “May 4, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Much better photo, Linda. The way you painted it reminds me of a well used and cherished flag.
    The first thing that went on me was my back, mind soon to follow I’m sure.

  2. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh that photo really makes a difference, Linda! This is a beautiful painting! I keep forgetting about my yupo stash and you are making me want to play with it. 🙂

  3. frankeber Says:

    Never worked on yupo. It looks very nice what you did, Linda. Maybe I should give it a try some time.. I like the sheen on it, it almost looks silky.


Leave a Reply

