Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 27, 2010 April 28, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:41 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Last  night I was a multi-tasker to the MAX. I watched NCIS, Dancing with the Stars and painted a new ATC…all at the same time! This little painting is of my absolutely favorite blooming tree, the pink dogwood. I fell in love with the color of these blossoms when I was very young. A neightbor had a large, old dogwood that was covered with large pink blooms every Spring.  In my young eyes it was a thing of beauty. It was magnifcent! Today, in my neighborhood in Indianapolis there is a fungus that kills dogwood trees. I have tried to start a dogwood tree and after three failed attempts I have given up. Luckily there are several robust, older trees nearby that I can still enjoy.

Pink Dogwood - ATC

Again, this was done primarily with my new watercolor crayons with a little watercolor pencil trown in.

 

5 Responses to “April 27, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    This is pretty and so soft. I like Dogwood, also. You are on a roll with your ATC’s!

  2. gluefingers Says:

    So glad spring is finally here and the dogwood is in full bloom.

  3. how did i miss these dogwoods? i like the loose free quality in these. these will be very popular in mail art communities.

  4. This work is very soft and delicate.Very beautiful.


Leave a Reply

