Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 26, 2010 April 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Uncategorized — lindahalcombfineart @ 1:17 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Lasy night I completed another ATC size painting using the watercolor crayons. Before I used them I took off the layer of wax the coated the tip of the crayon so they were a little easier to use. So far I think they are very convenient for using while I am sitting around watching TV in the evening. I just spread out my crayons, get a class of water and a small brush and go to town. I have only used them for ATC’s and I don’t know if they would work well for larger paintings but I will continue to experiment. I used a digital photo shot this week for my painting. It is of a white dogwood blossom. Right now I am still inspired by all the beautiful flowering trees in my neighborhood … but I am afraid that short season is about over.

Dogwood Blossom - ATC

 

10 Responses to “April 26, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    What namebrand crayons do you have, Linda? I like the wet look you are achieving with these and would like to try them. Beautiful delicate dogwood blossom!

  2. I bought the most basic set from Cheap Joe’s…it has 2 yellows, 2 greens, blue, turquoise, alizarin, ochre, brown, black, white and passionate purple. Last night I tried mixing colors on the tip of the crayon. Earlier I mixed colors on the paper itself. It is challenging but I am learning. Do you ever paint ATC’s? I am finding them to be good for studies before a bigger painting. And they are FUN.

  3. Beth Parker Says:

    This is beautiful, Linda! I really love the tulips, too! Gorgeous! 🙂

  4. cindyinsd Says:

    Lovely, Linda! Wonderful colors in that white blossom. Yet there’s no question it’s white. I finally found my little packet of ATCs. I’ll have to give them a try. Meanwhile, you’ve inspired me to do some cards. I’ve been enjoying them very much. Thanks!

  5. giatw Says:

    Very Pretty!

  6. aswirly Says:

    How very pretty this is! These crayons… they’re watercolor? Do you color first then add water?

    • Yes, these are watercolor crayons and they can be used many ways – put down water and draw into the water, draw with the crayon and then wet with water, and the one I normally use is to wet your brush and stroke color from the tip of the crayon. If I want thick color with a lot of texture, like the calligraphy backgrounds I draw on the paper and then wet itr and “push” the color around. I have used these mainly on ATC’s and not on anything larger.


Leave a Reply

