Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 25, 2010 April 26, 2010

Filed under: Acrylics,Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:21 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Last week was again a very busy week and yesterday morning I was going through my internal, whiny dialogue. Then I decided to quit whining and get busy painting. I set up a full sheet of Yupo, got out my acrylics and got started. I have always appreciated color field paintings and wanted to do a painting of a square. As many of you know, I love geometric shapes as subject matter. I chose purple and yellow/gold as my color palette to give the maximum energy and interest. I finished last night and the painting is in the “living with it” phase. The main question I am debating is whether to leave the edges of the square rough or make it more clean and crisp.  Opinions? Here is The Square #1.

The Square #1, Heavy Body Acrylics, 20" X 26" Yupo

Richard Naughton (see his blog on my Blogroll) has proposed a second virtual paint-out with the lighthouse as the subject and the posting to be June 21. Take a look. The last one was really fun. Won’t you join us?

 

10 Responses to “April 25, 2010”

  1. I like it with rough edges. Beautiful color, too!

  2. I really like this, and I would keep the natural edges. It still has the geometrics yet more earthly in feel. At least that’s my opinion.

  3. yeah. i like this. (josef albers comes to mind – i like what he did too). i agree with other commenters here, the variations in line/edge quality as it is right now works well with the brush stroke variations – this is it. …of course if you want to do another one, cool… leave this as is tho (imo). i like the lighting sense and the subtle shifts in color you get in this – rich.

    • I put this under a mat and decided it looked a lot better. I do like the rough edge. I think it just took awhile for me to adapt since I change my concept mid-painting – more texture, lightened the purple. These abstracts just sort of paint themselves!

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    My vote is for rough edges. Good job on YUPO, Linda!

    • Thanks Leslie. I never heard of anyone using heavy body acrylics and Yupo in this way but it is a nice combination. Some of my friends use acrylic inks and yupo. When I’m done I’m confused about whether I should mat them or not. Am I an acrylic? Am I a watercolor? The paintings from February I matted and put under glass but I don’t really think it would be necessary. I guess I am just a watercolor painter stuck in her rut!

      • lesliepaints Says:

        I don’t know what you would call the painting. An acrylic on YUPO is what I would call it. I know. There are watermedia shows, watercolor shows and even transparent watercolor shows. I’m sure your work looks nice matted and framed. I don’t think you are stuck in a rut. 🙂

  5. artimagica Says:

    LOve the color choice and I love the rough edges. Somehow I think sharper edges would make it too perfect. I vote for leaving it as is. Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

