Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 11, 2010 April 12, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:06 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We had a lovely day in Indy yesterday! All of the flowering trees are covered with profuse blossoms. I have four different types of trees within a few steps of my back door that were too tempting to ingmore. While watching the Masters so I decided to do some sketching. I started with a decorative plum tree and a red blossomed crabapple. Flowering Trees I cut the tip of a branch from each and did several small graphite sketches of each tree to learn how the tree grows…how many blooms, how many leaves, opposite or alternate… then I did the drawings in colored pencil in my small sketch book.

Crabapple Sketch

Now I have to decide what to do next…ATC’s or slightly larger paintings. Sounds like I have my plan for today!

 

10 Responses to “April 11, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    What wonderful studies! These are beauties and they don’t last very long, do they?

  2. Oh Linda these a beautiful sketches. I’m glad to hear you had a lovely day yesterday.

  3. Alina Says:

    This is something really cool!
    I’ve not studie flowers,fishes,etc for long time!!
    You had a great idea! 😉
    Thank you for share it,dear friend!!

    Take care!!

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    These are so beautiful, Linda! I really should try to paint from life more. It’s such a great skill.

  5. Heather Says:

    Love these – Spring in Indiana is always colorful and intoxicating. Thank you for sharing your gift.

  6. Hey Linda, these are beautiful. I’ve seen all of your works and I really love it 🙂 Keep it up! I wish I can be like that someday!


Leave a Reply

