Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 6, 2010 April 7, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:05 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am so happy and excited…my Cowgirl painting has reached that stage when I have done as much as I can. More tinkering and I run the risk of ruining it. Now I will set it up in my house and live with it for a while to see if I need to make tweaks. So I am ready to share!

The Cowgirl - Start to Her Day

If you have been following my blog you know that this is my first attempt at following a step-by-step, detailed process for the planning and execution of the painting. It has been tough for me since I am typically much more spontaneous but, as you can see, I am a long way from where I began. I will use the process again, especially for paintings that have special meaning for me. I think I will also have two or three works in process so I can step away for a day or two. I was so intensely focused on executing the process that I did not do this and I got a little weary and tired of the subject.

The dog is based on our dog Baxter, a beautiful tri-color Cavalier King Charles Spanial.

Baxter - Just Hanging Out

 

23 Responses to “April 6, 2010”

  1. It looks great! I love the colors, especially her crisp light blue shirt against the warm complex background. You finished it so fast, too!

  2. Wow, well worth the wait!
    Tweaking not needed, I think the more you look at it, the more satisfied you’re going to be. Very beautiful!

  3. lauraleeder Says:

    Well done! The way you’ve handled the background is exceptional. Good use of cool and warm colors throughout the painting.

  4. I appreciate your visit Laura. Thank you! I was very happy with the background. I think it turned out better than I expected. I was working with a new paper (Fabriano) and I was not sure how it would turn out.

  5. Alex Zonis Says:

    She looks very nice, Linda! I love how the background sets her off. Her right hand is one of favorite details with the arm behind the dog and the hand petting him. A lovely painting!

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    This is beautiful, Linda. You successfully rendered your cowgirl. Really like that you chose red for that coffee cup. Dog is a nice touch! Love the background!

  7. Wonderful Linda, has been nice seeing the progress. I think the back ground is perfect and what a cute looking dog.

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    Congratulations. I’m working through some patience and planning of my own with all the poetry I’ve been writing. Keep it up.

  9. artistwife Says:

    Loved seeing the process of the cowgirl. Robert agrees, it is always scary when you are worried about ruining something! Just go for it!

  10. Stephen Says:

    Hey Linda – this painting has nice energy – just like a day winding up – I love the blues in her shirt – they also make the cup spark – neat!

  11. frankeber Says:

    Came out nice, Linda! I still like the doggy best! I also think the background is very good and adds to the overall feel of your work. Well done!

  12. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh my gosh, Linda! I actually got goosebumps when I saw this. I know you worked very hard to get to this point and the results are nothing short of stunning! Congratulations! I hope you share the steps on your next one, too! Beautiful! 🙂

  13. Beth Parker Says:

    Oh, I had to comment again. I just saw where you said that you weren’t happy with the face. The face is one of my favorite parts! Do not touch that beautiful face! 🙂

  14. oliviakrane Says:

    This is an intriguing painting. I like the expressive face and the way you handled color. Thank you for sharing the step by step process too. It’s always interesting to see how other artists work.


Leave a Reply

