Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 1, 2010 April 2, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:58 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hi All! Did you know they now make watercolor paint in chocolate? If you get it on your fingers you can just lick it off! April Fools!! but wouldn’t it be nice? OK, back to the real world. Yesterday I took my Cowgirl Drawing and used tracing paper to make a copy to transfer to my watercolor paper. I corrected the things that were bothering me using the tracing paper copy.

Cowgirl Drawing on Tracing Paper

I shortened the neck, changed the amount of hair being blown to the side. moved the rope to the background and loosened up her left arm. The changes seem pretty subtle but I am much happier. I then transferred the tracing paper drawing to the watercolor paper I am using. After the transfer I decided she needed pockets so I drew them directly on the paper.

Cowgirl Drawing on Fabriano CP 140# Paper

I am really sorry the photos are so blurry. I am working on this but haven’t solved my problem yet. I am ready to start painting so I am probably shaking in fear!

 

7 Responses to “April 1, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    I had to laugh about you shaking in fear. ๐Ÿ™‚ This is going to make a beautiful painting, Linda! You have planned it well and you have a wonderful start. By the way, I like the rope being over her shoulder in the background. I think it will provide some terrific depth.

  2. kseverny Says:

    nice artwork.
    This for me is a useful demo in preparation.
    cheers

  3. CarolKing Says:

    Linda! how dare you tease me that way saying they make watercolors in chocolate!

    I haven’t had a chance to comment on all your cowgirl posts, but I was reading them today. I like the stage that you’re at now and await the painting once you stop shaking.

  4. thewhiteswan Says:

    there is almost nothing that is both as exciting and nerve-wracking as a blank sheet of watercolor paper! ๐Ÿ™‚

    have fun painting!
    K

  5. cindyinsd Says:

    Wow, great drawing and you’re right–it looks like it’s been a long process. You are very patient. I think she’s going to look spectacular.

  6. Yousei Hime Says:

    Awww . . . you had me going there–chocolate watercolors. Mmmmm. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Your cowgirl looks fun. Look forward to seeing the finished painting.

  7. Looking good, love seeing the progress.
    mmmm chocolate, lol I’m actually sitting here eating easter eggs at 10:30pm ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

