Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 30, 2010 March 31, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:24 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am continuing to work on my Cowgirl painting. I acted on Alex’s nudge and reworked my last drawing. I don’t know why I thought I could do the person in graphite and the background in charcoal. Got a little lazy I guess. The revised drawings is much better and is at the end of this post. A BIG thank you to Alex. Yesterday I started working on studies. I am particularly concerned about the skin tones and shadows on the face since I’ve only painted two heads before. I started by using a grisaille approach with a light gray but I did not really like this so I went in later and added bluish shadows.

Cowgirl Study

I am still concerned about this and am looking at my art books and magazines to get some help. I have decided to use a washed out blue shirt and a complementary orange, gold, earthtone background. I am also considering whether to use a buff colored hat or a darker shade. Then I did a couple of studies of the dog.

Dog Study for The Cowgirl

I think I like the black and white dog best but the reddish one may work better with the analogous complementary color scheme. Anyway I am still considering and am going to paint a really rough study of the entire painting to finalize the colors. I am really frustrated by how long the process is taking BUT my four dogs are being very needy right now and I am not getting the concentrated time I need to really focus so I can wrap this up. In other words, I guess I am doing it to myself! Here is the final drawing…The Final Cowgirl Drawing

 

5 Responses to “March 30, 2010”

  1. frankeber Says:

    Thank you for leaving a comment over at my blog, Linda!!
    I have to say, your dog studies look really great. I think it’ll turn out well! Happy painting.

  2. thewhiteswan Says:

    Hi Linda,
    just a small suggestion: I would use the black and white dog instead of the golden/reddish one,….if you are going to do the background in oranges and golds, (which I think would be beautiful) it would blend in too much. He’s an important part of the story you are telling. You want to make sure he is seen. Also he is at the bottom of your composition, the darker color will help “ground” it. Good luck!
    K

  3. Francis Jong Says:

    Hi Linda, the cowgirl looks great. The soft tone match the scene and the girl expression.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I am truly looking forward to your morning cowgirl painting!

  5. Alina Says:

    The painting is very beautiful!
    I like it a lot!
    😉

    Thank you,dear!! 🙂

    Have a wonderful day!!!


Leave a Reply

