Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 27, 2010 March 28, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:01 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

And the evolution continues…I just spent the last two days working on the detailed drawing for the Cowgirl painting I want to do. I made several changes but now I am to the point that I am ready to make the drawing on my watercolor paper.

Cowgirl Detailed Drawing

Just a few questions for those who are willing to comment.

1. I think the neck is too long. Should I shorten it?

2. Is the hat right? I changed the style to more of a Mexican / Southwest style. Should I go back to something more tyipcally western?

3. She looks a little stiff and forward leaning. Should I remove the rope? Maybe put it in her hand at her side instead of the cup? Tilt the shoulders differently? I am using the cup because I want to convey the beginning of her day.

Please be critical…one thing I have noticed about the process I am following is that I get tired of working on one piece so long so I may do some Sumi-e or something before I start to paint this. Each step yields improvement so I don’t want to get bored and not finish the process or the painting.

 

6 Responses to “March 27, 2010”

  1. Alex Zonis Says:

    Hi Linda! I am not a teacher or a professional portraitist, so I won’t assume to critique, but I can offer a second pair of eyes and some suggestions.

    I think the neck and hat are fine, the rope is not a problem – it is a part of your narrative. The issue here may be not enough shadows and definitions.

    The neck may benefit from a dark shadow under her jaw and more definition at the collar bone. It also needs shadows to indicate its roundness.

    I don’t know this hat, cannot tell if its design is correct or not, but regardless of the design it needs shadows and darker values under the brim and at the sides of the cylinder band to suggest curvature there as well.

    You have nice darks surrounding the figure that make her come forward from the plain of the paper, but she needs more darks throughout the figure itself to indicate volume. Like in the triangular opening of her shirt, on both sides where arms touch the torso, around her hand, you get the idea…

    I hope this is helpful in some way :).

    • Thank You Alex. I think I got lazy. I did the entire drawing in graphite but I wanted the background to be darker so this morning I got out my charcoal pencil and went to work on the background. I really needed to rework the entire drawing with the charcoal. Thank you very much for your comments. They are right on the mark. It really helps to have an extra pair of eyes!

  2. Linda she’s looking lovely and coming along well. I think Alex has hit the nail on the head, there just needs to be a little more shadows and definition. Though I still think she looks wonderful and so does the dog, I’m loving the dog.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I think it is admirable that you are working through pre-drawings to get your composition and values down before you paint. I think Alex has given some very good suggestions. Are you going to watercolor this? If so, perhaps the flow in the water will take care of some of the stiffness that you are questioning. You handled the Raggedy Ann doll beautifully from drawing to paint! I’ll bet this will be similar. 🙂

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, I am so impressed that you take the time to plan your painting out. I fly by the seat of my pants, so if it’s going to fail, it just fails. I wish I had the foresight and patience to do this.

    I can’t critique, because I am not a portrait artist. I think it is going to be a wonderful painting, tho. 🙂

  5. Oh and part of the Hershey’s better basket easter challenge I passed this basket on to you. It’s to raise money for a worthwhile cause, check out my link
    http://ambiguousartistry.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/lets-raise-5000-for-the-children%E2%80%99s-miracle-network/
    Thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

