Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 25, 2010 March 25, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:53 am
Tags: , , , , ,

First of all, I would like to thank Ryan (Small Town Dad) for proposing the Spring Challenge  Paint-out. It was incredible fun to go through all of the paintings. I continue to be impressed with the creativity, talent and generosity of the artists who blog. You rock!!! If you haven’t checked this out please take a look.

Yesterday I continued to work on ideas for my Cowgirl painting. I tightened up the focus so it was clear that the cowgirl was the focal point of the painting. I studied cowgirl stuff and spent time refining her clothing. I dropped the neckerchief and drew her with many styles of hat. I also tried to bring in a hint of Native American ancestery. I really need to improve the hand /dog portion of the drawing and late yesterday shot a couple of photos of my trusty dog Baxter to help with this. Anyway, I am still playing on newsprint but am definitely closer to what I want. Stayed tuned!

Cowgirl Sketch 03242010

 

4 Responses to “March 25, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I think the fact that you are connecting the figures, girl and dog, made a big difference. I will remember this in my own art. So, thank-you, Linda! 🙂

  2. Beth Parker Says:

    This is wonderful, Linda! I love the dog and the woman’s ease with each other. I can’t wait to see it finished. 🙂

  3. Alina Says:

    You done a nice job here!
    I like the drawing that you did it!
    It’s very natual and beautiful!
    10X for share it!
    🙂

    Have a magnificent day!! 🙂

  4. Nice drawing Linda, I definitely like the dog, it’s a nice touch.


Leave a Reply

