Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 21, 2010 March 22, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:16 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This has been a week full of doctor’s appointments, errands, family confusions and yada, yada, yada. What else is new! Anyway I didn’t accomplish as much as I hoped but as I watched the NCAA tourney I was able to start working on sketches for a new watercolor. I grew up on a farm and I have always admired the hard work and ethical behavior of the farmers I grew up with. My brother-in-law still farms and two of my son-in-laws have been farmers.

Elizabeth Posing

I see the same characteristics along with a level of stoicism and aloneness in cowboys. I decided a few weeks ago that I wanted to paint a cowgirl waiting to begin her day. I had my granddaughter Elizabeth pose for digital photos that I thought I would use to get me started. Elizabeth has that long lean look I think of for a cowgirl (totally unlike her Grandmother). I had her hold a cup because I thought my cowgirl might be looking into the distance as she sipped her last cup of coffee early in the morning. Using newsprint and my Ebony pencil I began to work on sketches using slightly different poses and incorporating animals you might see on a farm or ranch.

Cowgirl Sketch #1

I did many, many sketches starting simple, making minor changes to them all as I worked on the design.

Cowgirl Sketch #2

After about an hour and a half of sketching I started to add value to the sketches. (HMMM… value or values…freudian slip?) So here is where I am at. After all that sketching I think I have decided that I have lost the focus on the cowgirl and will probably tighten up the composition, taking out many of the elements and cropping so only her upper body is shown. I think after I get the composition I am going to do a detailed drawing and then start some watercolor studies. With this painting I really want to use a fully developed process that might yield a better painting. This will be a first for me and I am trying to be patient and to focus on the purpose of each step of the process.

Here is the final sketch that I am still evaluating.

Cowgirl Sketch #3

 

2 Responses to “March 21, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    What a wonderful project you are engaged in. I like all three of your ideas. I also think just a painting of Elizabeth and cup would be nice.

  2. I actually have been intrigued with idea of painting just Elizabeth and the cup. I have two other angles that I shot and they are both interesting. So if I can get through this process I probably will work with that idea. Elizabeth grew up in a small country town and spent lots of time on her aunt’s farm so I may work with that idea later. She was a very cooperative model.


Leave a Reply

