Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 16, 2010 March 17, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 11:02 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday I began to work with the plum bossom and the calligraphic symbol for Friendship. I started by practicing “Fall”, which turned out very well and working on my strokes, practicing bamboo and “Laughter”. I am working with the new ink I bought from OAS and it is quite different from watercolor or Black Magic ink. It is thicker and more viscous. I am fighting with dilution of the ink and the brush loading. But I know I am only at the beginning of the learning curve.

Plum Exercise #1

I practiced two different patterns. I really need to go back and study the plum to learn more about the tree, the blossoms and how they grow and develop. (This is also true of the orchid). As with anything it helps to understand the underlying structure…and as usual I just jump in!

Plum Exercise #2

Both of these use student quality Sumi ink on newsprint and my older, perhaps lower quality brushes. Perhaps next week I will be confident enough to work on the better paper.

 

14 Responses to “March 16, 2010”

  1. kseverny Says:

    these are good exercises.
    great job

  2. pevaeva Says:

    Very delicate brush strokes!

    • The second large branch was done with a small brush. I was having trouble controlling the washes using larger brushes. I also though the result was delicate and was pleased that I was able to achieve it. I am always so focused when I am painting that I never quite realize what the results look like until I am finished.

  3. deanjbaker Says:

    these are fine to see – good to find your blog

  4. CarolKing Says:

    Your plum exercises are looking good!

  5. AshN Says:

    I love the delicacy you’ve achieved. 🙂

  6. Naomi Says:

    You will see an amazing difference when you use the “good” paper! You will also love it, and hate it. The most important thing is to understand the wetness factor – the more water in your brush, the more everything will ooze into the paper. To control the ink, you will want to have a brush which is nearly dry, even when you do the light-to-dark.

    A little trick, too, when you do the brush loading is to hold the brush with the tip up for a bit of time – the darker color moves into the bristles and you can get some nice results.

    Looking forward to seeing your continued progress!

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    They look great to me!

  8. jaybastian Says:

    Lovely work! I like the graphic quality of the plum branches.

  9. Kim and Heather Says:

    Kim wants you to paint the cherry blossoms on her shower invitations for Kelsey’s shower. These look great!


Leave a Reply

