Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 15, 2010 March 16, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:54 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Really exciting news… I received notification yesterday that three of my paintings have been accepted for Paperchase, a juried show held by Gallery 308 in Muncie, Indiana, home of Ball State University. Ball State has one of the top art programs in the state. This is a big deal for me because, other then the Indiana State Fair, I did not enter any shows or competitions last year. I wanted to focus on improving my basic skills and I spent my time studying color theory (working with books by Betty Edwards and Stephan Quiller) and drawing (classes at the Indianapolis Art Center). I am still a novice when considering color choices but at least now I have an understanding of the basics and THINK about color choices as I paint. My first drawing class last summer reawakened my long forgotten love of drawing.

Along with two 2010 pieces posted earlier on my blog, one of my 2008 collage pieces was accepted.

Collage #4, Watercolor and Paper on Yupo

I completed it after taking a workshop from Peggy Brown, a nationally known artist from Nashville, Indiana. She exhibits abstract watercolor collages and has recently become active nationally in art quilting. (I will add a link to her website to my list.) I have not done another collage since completing this one but I have always really liked it. I should do more, especially now that I have a better handle on composition. So much to do, so much to learn, so little time…better get busy!

 

15 Responses to “March 15, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Congratulations, Linda! Your collage is beautiful. I especially like the diagonal movement of shapes above and below the horizontal bar.

  2. Congratulations! I’m excited for you! 🙂

  3. damien Says:

    That’s great news. Happy for you!

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    Congratulations, Linda!!!! I am so happy for you! This collage is very beautiful. I could gaze at it for the longest time. Love the colors!

  5. Ryan Petrow Says:

    Great news, Linda! I see you’ve been working hard. And it’s paying off!

  6. CarolKing Says:

    A big fat YAY! for you and CONGRATULATIONS! How thrilling. Love the collage.

  7. londonartgirl Says:

    Congratulations! What an honour for you =)
    If you’re looking for other good art books …..
    Nita Leland has some great artist’s books – one specifically devoted to colour. I have her “The New Creative Artist” on my nighttable now . It’s so much fun to look at.

    • Thank you! I live to read so I am always looking for new books! As part of the docent program at the Indianapolis Museum of Art we recently formed a Book Club. It has been phenomenally successful and I have been introduced to a group of fascinating books. We just finished My Life an autobiography by Marc Chagall and our next selection is the Painted Kiss, historical fiction about Gustav Klimt.

  8. Stephen Says:

    Congratulations – and all the best with the show.

    I am impressed with your focus on learning, taking in information, practicing and reflecting on outcomes. The results are showing, I think, in your work. I have never focussed on abstract work but I find this collage is very expressive.

    I love Betty Edwards work on drawing. Colour is another area of development waiting for me and I will look up Stephan Quiller when I get there.

  9. The composition of the different shapes really makes the work strong!


Leave a Reply

