Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 13, 2010 March 14, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 12:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This has been a LOOONG week full of complications, meetings and other obligations. After picking up the house and doing laundry I was too mentally tired to take on anything too detailed or complex so I decided to free my mind  – to open up and release the little gray cells from tension.  So I worked on another abstract painting. I really like working with the combination of heavy body acrylics and yupo and I have been mulling over the colors and characteristics that define Mardi Gras for several weeks. I wanted to work with purple, green and gold and I wanted to capture the spirit, the movement and the light and dark feel of the pre-lent revelry. I am really happy with this painting. I always feel that the carnival before Lent has a dark feeling to it and I hope I was able to capture that.

Carnival, 13" X 20", Acrylic on Yupo

 

9 Responses to “March 13, 2010”

  1. Kleckser Says:

    Hi,
    I really like your paintings and this one in particular. Although I guess mardi grass is different from the german carnival, I can find the atmosphere of the cologne carnival in your painting.
    Best wishes
    Michael (The Kleckser Art Blog)

    • When I think about Carnival in Venice or New Orleans they always seem to have a mysterious, dark side.
      Just a question, where do you live in Germany? (You don’t have to answer if I have made a mistake asking! I’m a novice at blogging.) My husband and I were lucky enough to live in Heidelberg for 6 months and love Germany.

  2. CarolKing Says:

    Unfortunately I don’t know much about carnival or pre-lent revelry, but I do know that this is a really beautiful painting. I really like the colors and the movement of it.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I like this abstract very much. The value range is interesting and strong, Linda!

  4. Connie Says:

    Linda

    I immediately thought of Degas and ballerinas….. I love the painting

    Connie

  5. Judy Says:

    Linda, your blogs are such a cheery diversion for me, and your diligence is an inspiration! I am in love with the Carnival piece. So much energy comes from that painting. I agree with Connie: the movement is reminiscent of the Degas ballerinas.


Leave a Reply

