Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 11, 2010 March 12, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:38 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was very busy with meetings. I was able to paint sporadically as I ran in and out of the house going from meeting to meeting. I wanted to experiment with the learnings I had earlier in the week so I tried painting Orchid with various materials and processes. In this first painting I sprayed my 140# Arches watercolor paper and splashed on some color after using a small amount of mask to put in some (hopefully) natural shapes. Then I tried to paint an orchid with the Sumi-e brushes and watercolor. My paper was cold press and this paper and the brushes were a mis-match. I would run out of paint right after starting and would lose my stroke. I had to do a final touch-up with watercolor brushes to finish.

Watercolor paper, Sumi-e brushes

For the second exercise I used watercolor paper, brushes and paint. I tried to use the Sumi-e grip and stroke throughout.

Watercolor paper, paint, brush - Sumi-e stroke and grip

I think I’ve decided to focus on learning Sumi-e and delay experimentation. This approach seems like it may be a more efficient use of time.

 

15 Responses to “March 11, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, the black and whites were beautiful, but I really love what you accomplished with the color. I actually think the surface tension of the paper creates a wonderful painting! Smooth may be the way with this technique, but the texture in the top painting is really beautiful!! You can make up new rules any time you want, by the way. (not that I would ever dream of doing that! hee hee) 🙂

  2. Naomi Says:

    The frustration with attempting Asian style painting on Western paper is because the paper used in watercolor is sized. You won’t be able to come close to the subtleties of sumi-e on sized paper, but what you can do, if you want some of the qualities of the stroke, is to create a smooth, moist surface on watercolor paper – dampen it thoroughly – and think your way through it. The results are rather nice and the strength of the watercolor paper makes for attractive pictures.

    The key is that your water color paper must be damp for the brush strokes. Let the paper dry where necessary, then use a spray bottle to dampen the paper, allowing time to work the dampness into the paper fibers.

    All this takes patience, and you will never get exactly an Asian painting look on Western paper, but you will achieve some nice results. You may also try doing this with acrylic paints, or Marie’s Chinese paints, which dry water proof.

    For an interesting artist, google “Sung Sook Setton” – she has some lovely works which are abstract, painterly, and incorporate the brush strokes you are learning.

    • Naomi, Thank you so much for sharing your insight. I will look at the website. I am never discouraged by these experiences. I just try to learn from them. Your information will be really helpful. Linda

  3. Both look gorgeous to me, the black and white pieces were lovely too but I’m loving the colours. Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  4. debbyfriselladesigns Says:

    Linda, you have a true talent yourself! I love the sumi watercoloring you’ve done with the pictures above. I don’t have the rules down pat when it comes to watercolor, but trial, error and fun have exposed me to new and awesome ways to use in the future. I love the suspense of watercolors. 🙂

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    I’m liking what I’m seeing, here. Use what you learn to your best advantage, don’t you think? I would certainly give hot press Arches a try. Wash down the surface and let it dry, first, then paint on it. The wash down will get rid of that surface sizing to some degree. Have fun. I think you are doing great.

    • Thanks Leslie. I will give it a shot. Maybe the Canson I used for my Quiller exercises would work pretty well. It has a smooth surface and actually seems to dry flat even after being pretty wet.

  6. londonartgirl Says:

    I really like the sumi-e. The simple lines are really attractive and interesting. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment at my blog – it helped me find you and your beautiful art!

  7. CarolKing Says:

    Both your colorful flowers and your black and white ones are terrific.

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    I began sumi-e about two years ago. My practice is sporadic, but I find it so peaceful. It is a zen discipline, as I understand it. The entire process, from laying out and materials, through the painting, to putting everything away–it is all a part of a one deep moment. I try to achieve this, but life often interrupts. Enjoy all you learn, and I look forward to hearing about your discoveries.

  9. […] thought of Linda Halcomb’s Chinese brush exercises as I painted the tree in the foreground – I could do with some […]


Leave a Reply

