Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 5, 2010 March 6, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:23 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday I finished the watercolor of the Duck Pond at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park. I am pretty happy with it. I always question whether I made good decisions as I painted it. Is the sky dark enough? Should it have been more blue? More sunny? Oh well. I obviously used painter’s license but I always seem to get tangled up in what scenes really look like after I have finished. One particular scene from Ft Ben I painted four times before I was happy with the finished painting. I just keep telling myself I learn something from every painting I do.

At the Duck Pond 9" X 12" 140# Arches

My husband always says I am more skilled at drawing than at painting. This painting looks very “drawy” to me. Probably because I finished with a small brush and was almost drawing the brush strokes. I don’t think this is a bad thing…just a comment.

 

6 Responses to “March 5, 2010”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    I love it and I so know how you feel painting something over and over again and having to just count it as some good experience. I like your “drawy” style. It makes me think of an older story book, like maybe the older Winnie the Pooh books.

    • Sabrina, Thank you for visiting my site. I enjoy yours so much. I have never understood why watercolor is seen as “less than” oil or acrylic painting. It is so unforgiving! Keep up the great work. Linda

  2. Miguel Says:

    What a beautiful use of color! I also use watercolor as simple line work too. Often on purpose, sometimes by habit.

    Great work

    • Hi Miguel, Thank you for commenting. Art is so interesting and challenging. Sometimes you start out to do one thing and end up doing something different. Habits are hard to break. Especially bad ones! Linda

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I think you did wonderfully with this. To me, it is what is referred to as a high key painting and I believe it introduces how I feel with the stark bright light of spring and the leaves starting to green up with that yellow-green color. Nice painting, Linda. I look at each painting I do as a stepping stone. They are my vision and my feelings and my inspiration at that moment. They are timeless in and of themselves and precious because of that. I see beauty and a moment in time, here.

  4. Pick up two dumbbells, making sure that they are light enough for you to practice perfect form or
    for simply warming up your triceps muscles. Decades ago when some American coaches saw what their superior Baltic counterparts were training their athletes with for certain strength competitions,
    they began slowly to incorporate kettlebells into
    their programs. Strength and physical fitness can help improve your skills as a field hockey
    player.


Leave a Reply

