Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 4, 2010 March 5, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:02 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ken and I have always walked at Ft Benjamin Harrison State Park here in Indy. Ft Ben is a retired Army base that contains onbe of the world’s latgest (sq footage) buildings, the Army Finance Center. After Ken retired he walked alone, then I retired and walked there after my knee replacement surgery and now we walk there with our furry friends. At the back of the park there is a duck pond that has a picturesque culvert with rushes and cattails growing up around it.

The Duck Pond at Ft Ben

I have always wanted to do a plein air painting in this area but have never had the time (husband and dogs always nipping at my heels) so last fall I took some digital photos. I want to start working on a watercolor of the scene so yesterday I printed this photo and did a value study. I used gray markers I bought for a workshop that I had never used (even in the workshop! GRRRR!).

At the Duck Pond

I got so entranced using the new markers that I lost sight of where the light was coming from. But I can deal with that. I’m going to do some more thumbnails to fine tune the composition and then on to the painting….

 

7 Responses to “March 4, 2010”

  1. I’m not sure if I have ever sketched with gray markers before, but you have encouraged me to give it a try. It gives it a softer touch, which allows the landscape to be more pleasing than harsh. I’m hoping to visit a relative in Indy within the next few weeks, I might have to check this place out (if allowed).

  2. damien Says:

    Looks great! I have a lot of trouble with markers or brush tip pens, you make it look like it was effortless. Thanks.

  3. artvisuelle Says:

    That sketch is cute
    Thanks for your comment, I really really appreciate it πŸ™‚
    I’ll be watching your blog πŸ˜‰

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    Really nice composition in this, Linda. I definitely want to see the painting, Soon! πŸ™‚ Isn’t it funny how “life happens” while one is trying to paint?

  5. Carol King Says:

    your husband nips at your heels? He needs to be better trained.
    πŸ™‚

    I like your sketch with the gray markers.


Leave a Reply

