Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 3, 2010 March 4, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:21 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Earlier this year I remember seeing a post discussing the first painting sold by the artist. I think this type of information is always interesting as we get to know more about each other. Since I spent yesterday working on my To Do List and getting ready to do some drawing today, I thought I might share this information.

I was a hit-or-miss weekend artist for years but I always worked from a book or copyed a photo from a calendar. I painted only a few paintings over many, many years and those paintings found happy homes with my family. In 1994 I started working on my Masters Degree and didn’t paint again for 14 years. In 2007 after retiring and spending two years recovering from double knee replacement and finding volunteer efforts that were fulfilling I final realized that I had an opportunity to pursue my life-long love of art and specifically watercolor painting. I had been hiding from this because I was afraid I would not be successful in terms that had been important during my business career.   Believe it or not Oprah and the subjects covered on her show gave me the courage to reevaluate my path. I redefined success as fulfillment and happiness. If I painted a bad painting I saw that it was only paper and I could start again. So to make a long story short I started to paint again in February, 2007. It has been a steady learning process and I know I will be learning for the rest of my life. In 2008 I became fascinated by the concept of the golden mean and started thinking about this concept. As part of this process I painted two paintings that had space divided using the golden mean and that were very “designy”. I still have a third one floating in my head waiting to be painted. In late 2008 one of these was the first painting I ever sold. I still love it and, while the painting could be better, I am still very proud of it.

Tree - First Painting Sold

The background is intended to look like a plan drawn by a landscape architect. You can already see my fascination with oriental calligraphy. I just wanted something simple, straight forward, and focused on “Trees”. The second painting I did in the series is titled “Leaf” and the one that is painted in my head is “House”. As I sit here I can see it.

Leaf

I hope some of you will share your story…

 

7 Responses to “March 3, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    My first piece that sold to an “unknown” was fun and totally unexpected. I tend to look at my path in art as a journey of fun and discovery. Both these paintings are beautiful. I like the color and design element incorporated here. Thanks, Linda!

  2. mobius faith Says:

    I love both of these paintings. A wonderful style.

  3. Carol King Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your story. I hadn’t picked up a brush for 30 years and then did so again in 2007/ 2008 and realized I loved it. I just sold a painting to an unknown person and am beside myself. What a thrill.

    I remember reading about the golden mean and was very interested it. I’m glad you mentioned it. I’m going to re-read about it.

    I really like both your paintings and am so happy I stopped by. You have inspired me.

  4. My BS from Purdue was in Mathematics so I am always fascinated by concepts like the golden mean. I think it is really supposed to be used to place your center of interest but rules are made to be broken…right?

  5. Chris Carter Says:

    Linda,

    These are so strong and evocative. I feel these reveal your strength and personal expression as an artist…. strong line work, strong shapes and color that works!


Leave a Reply

