Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 1, 2010 March 2, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:13 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I  spent several hours practicing basic Sumi-e strokes and working on “Fall” and “Bamboo” exercises. Keeping a steady hand, learning the way to move the brush, maintaining the correct grip…this is very exacting. But I improve each time I work at this…even if I feel that I am back to square one each time I start.

Fall - Thalo Blue Acrylic Ink on Japanese Paper

I experimented with some different materials yesterday and the two works I am posting look like earlier works but the ink and the paper are quite different. I had some old (and ripply) unryu paper with lots of fibers and texture that I wanted to try and I also experiemented with acrylic inks to give color.  A friend has introduced me to Oriental Art Supplies a wonderful online store for Asian Ink Painting supplies. I need to get some better paper to work with. Sounds like it is time to go shopping! On my little and still not very good painting of Bamboo I used Thalo Blue, Yellow and White acrylic inks. I need lots more work to learn how to properly load the brush and I need to start testing whats in my brush before I start to be sure I have the right value and not too much water. Need to curb my tendency to jump right in. So much to learn! And I think the bamboo leaves should be straighter with no curve. Sounds like a subject for research!

Bamboo - Acrylic Inks on Unryu Paper

 

11 Responses to “March 1, 2010”

  1. kseverny Says:

    they look good to me.
    But i dont really know this form

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I think you are doing great. Whatever you learn from this will be great to take to your watercolors, don’t you think? I know they are pretty specific about the strokes and can tell when they are not executed correctly, but my gosh, what worlds you are learning to add to your watercolors! I love the bottom one! Try a philodendron with this style! Who knows? It may end up looking pretty good to you!

    • I think you’re right. I am probably pretty critical because I know the artists painting in this style are very exacting. The practice is really good for my watercolors already. Two things that have been beneficial: Breathe in before a stroke and breathe out as you do the stroke and the way they double and triple load different shades of ink into their brushes. The whole thing is intriguing. And having the great Asian collectiions at the IMA helps!

  3. sketchbloom Says:

    These are incredible. I admire your brushwork!
    By the way, I put on my blog a better scan of the watercolor-in-progress….oh my goodness it looks so much better! I did not have Photoshop to correct the other image, and I am embarassed I even showed it!! Thank you so much for your feedback, and for visiting!!!

    • Thanks for visiting. I can’t wait to visit your site again. I don’t really use anything but my digital camera and scanner on my printer. Some day I will have to learn more about Photoshop.

  4. brownivy Says:

    This is beautiful! I *love* the colors…

  5. Looks like you’ve done a great job to me. Bamboo looks fantastic.

  6. Color and light are the two elements that I love most about watercolor painting. I think that’s why I started almost immediately to bring them in to my Sumi-e work. Thank you for visiting!

  7. Carol King Says:

    These are great. I had to look up sumi-e painting to find out it’s also known as Chinese brush painting. Is this correct? I don’t know much about it, but have always been interested in it. Thanks for sharing your work.

    • I get confused. I’ve heard it called Chinese brush painting, Japanese brush painting, Asian brush painting and Sumi-e. I think they are all basically the same. The one difference that I have learned about in my docent training is that the Chinese usually create a complete painting while the Japanese will have the primary element with blank space so the viewer can create the “rest of the story”. I don’t know if that is still true today but I know it is very clear in the scrolls displayed at the Indianapolis Museum of Art which has a great set of Asian Galleries.

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    I found you via a comment and resulting link from lesliewhite’s blog. I am grateful she sent me here. How envious I am of your skill already. You are a bit harsh in your self-criticism, but I suppose we all tend to be that way. I do think mastery of sumi-e (and haiku) are years and years (and probably years) in the making. What a wonderful concept. Learning day by day, improving day by day, mastering in a lifetime. Look forward to seeing what the future paints for you.


Leave a Reply

