Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 2, 2010 March 2, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:34 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Another fun, fun, fun watercolor portrait finished today. No background – just the head. I am learning so much by painting these faces. I loved the shock of hair on this boy. I am using cadmium red both mixed and alone very frequently. It seems to bring the face to life. I think I may still lighten up the mouth a little. It looks too much like a girl. Still having trouble with the nose and getting the soft, almost peach-fuzzy look of a childs mouth. Great challenge, great fun, great day!

Sunburned Boy

 

8 Responses to “March 2, 2010”

  1. Damien Says:

    I really like the rumpled look of his hair, it reminds me of pictures of my brother from when we were young. Both of us had a lot of hair and it was always a mess!

    I think you’re behind hard on yourself about the nose. It looks great to me.

    • Thanks Damien – he reminds me of my brother as well. He is four years younger than me and was always exploring our farm and woods with his dog. And he had loads and loads of almost black hair. I did some touch up this morning. Lightened the mouth and made the twisted collar a little bigger. I’m going for rumpled boy.

  2. Beth Parker Says:

    I love this, Linda! That is a WONderful face! 🙂

    One of my goals this year is to learn to do people, especially kids. I have two brand new nephews and they are just too cute to pass up!

    • Thanks Beth. I have always loved to draw faces but have been scared to death to paint them – talk about that fear of failure. Doing my little colored pencil portraits this year has helped me think through an approach. I still go into painting a face with anxiety but at least I have a process to help me move forward.

  3. Richard McNaughton Says:

    Great study, I find the biggest problem of doing portraits is capturing the persons soul, if you will. I think the eyes are the most important, You seem to have done a great job in that.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    He has that “bad-boy” look but he’s too cute!

  5. Carol King Says:

    Love the expression. Looks like he’s saying “are you done yet?”


Leave a Reply

