Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 19, 2010 February 21, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:49 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

My husband’s surgery is over and he is slowly coming back to normal. I spent Friday in my studio framing some of my recent watercolors and while I was tidying up I stumbled across an interesting phenomena. Recently I have been practicing Sumi-e and I made some practice paintings of bamboo. I found one of my exercises and thought “Why didn’t I like that? It is not that bad.” Then I realized I was looking at the reverse side of the paper. The Sketch Paper I was using allows the ink to bleed through and it had edited the painting enough that it looks much better. Hummm… is there a learning here? Edit, edit, edit! Keep it simple!

Bamboo - Reverse side

 

10 Responses to “February 19, 2010”

  1. kseverny Says:

    wow. thats cool.
    funny how some things turn out

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautiful! 🙂

  3. Carol King Says:

    what a great story and a great learning experience that I am still trying to learn. Less is more.

    Of course sometimes more is more. I guess the learning comes when you figure out which is which.

  4. Stephen Says:

    I really like this brush work and your design – very beautiful

  5. Oh this is really wonderful. Very well done. thanks for visiting my blog
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne
    ps glad you painted today instead of baking cookies. I should be painting instead of being on this computer.

  6. Alex Zonis Says:

    I was about to comment how much I liked this bamboo painting, but then decided to read the post before I did so. How funny! I still like the painting quite a lot, but there is indeed a lesson there. Sometimes putting some time between the artist and her work can produce interesting results.

    I am glad to hear your husband is doing better!

  7. Really liked the effortlessness in the brush strokes (although you said you edited a lot :-)…Wow! I feel like exploring Sumi-medium soon.


Leave a Reply

