Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 16, 2010 February 17, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:45 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Set Up #1

Set Up #2

Drawing class yesterday and Irina overwhelmed us with possibilities. We had four different set ups and they all had elements that were interesting. The combinations could even be thought provoking. We could combine, delete, edit, add to in any way to make a good composition. Irina brought Raggedy Ann because she used it Monday evening to do a watercolor for her Intermediate Watercolor class.

Irina's Raggedy Ann

So of course most of us worked with Raggedy Ann! But most of us took quite a while to sketch because there were so many items that could be combined…doll, book, eyeglasses…infinite combinations and possibilities by using your imagination.

Set Up #3

The fourth set up even brought in Georgia O’Keefe like possibilities for us O’Keefe lovers…

Set Up #4

So we sketched thumbnail size drawings as we considered the potential for different options. Some students never moved beyond the thumbnail stage since we had so much to work with. Here are a few of my thumbnails so you can see how my thinking developed.

Thumbnails #1

Thumbnails #2

Maybe not very exciting but the activity was fun. Finally I went with the lovely little Raggedy Ann because this is so far from the type of subject I normally work with. I intend to paint from this drawing and maybe I will be lucky enough to get a painting full of life and fun that I can give to my great grand-daughter. Wish me luck!

Linda's Drawing of Raggedy Ann

 

5 Responses to “February 16, 2010”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    That’s a great composition, Linda! I can’t wait to see the painting! I am a lover of Miss Raggedy Ann!

  2. mark Says:

    Linda, I love your blog! I enjoyed reading the many different areas, topics, thoughts, etc.. Your blog is inspiring to me and I will check it out often. I know that it will provide motivation on days when I just seem too tired or when I feel there is not enough time. Thanks, looking forward to future blogs… Mark

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I think you will do great on Raggedy Ann. Love the drawing.

  4. Heather Says:

    I love Raggedy Ann – I like these – reminds me of the books we used to have.


Leave a Reply

