Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 11 and 12, 2010 February 12, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:38 am
Tags: , , , ,

I feel almost embarassed to tell what I have accomplished after two days of on and off work. I want to learn Sumi-e painting. Why?  To improve my skill and creativity with a brush. To improve my watercolor paintings. So I bought a couple of books and  watched a few videos on Youtube and started work. Well that is when the rubber meets the road. This is tough! I have spent two days practicing strokes, working with different brushes and trying different papers.

Fall #1

Fall #2

One of my books suggested practicing by writing the Chinese symbols for “Fall”. This uses the majority of the strokes. Well I am ready to show two very imperfect attempts…

I admire so much anyone who has mastered this art. It is very exacting and requires patience, internal quiet and a steady hand.

I intend to practice more strokes today and to try my hand at bamboo next. I practice on newsprint which has proven to be very effective as a paper to practice on. These two images are painted on Sumi-e Sketch Paper. They are 4″ X 4″ and 5″ X 5″.

Helpful hints anyone?

 

5 Responses to “February 11 and 12, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Good for you for exploring this!

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I love the simplicity of oriental art so I hope the philosophy of less is more also begins to permeate my thinking. I really have a tendency to overwork my paintings.
      By the way, how did you get your intense darks in your tunnel painting? The reflection in the tunnel is really impressive.

  2. Stephen Says:

    Hey this is cool – I love the idea of quiet, contemplative, masterful strokes – the only hint I would have is keep going – lots and lots of practice – I find this idea quite inspiring – thanks – S


Leave a Reply

