Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 8, 2010 February 9, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:03 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I have finished reading the Stephan Quiller book Color Choices but I have not done the last set of exercises. The first exercise asks us to paint the way a scene looks using four different time points during the day. I wanted to paint a birdbath in our side yard when it was capped  by a crown of snow. Well we have SNOW!

Birdbath at 9am

Sunday I took three digital photos of the scene (sorry Stephan the day is too short for four). For me this would be an exercise to work on composition and color.

Yesterday I printed the photos, worked out a composition and painted the first two paintings.  For my composition I wanted to include four elements – the birdbath, the tree, the black trellis and dried hydrangea flowers that were still on my bush. I think the dried hydrangeas are quite beautiful and I leave them on my bush to liven up the winter landscape. All four items are spread out and I had to find a way to compress them to make a pleasing painting.

Birdbath at 2pm

At 9 am the colors are stronger and the shadows more bold. At 2 pm the colors are slightly more subdued but still colorful. I tried to stay focused on the direction of the light and the shadows both direct and reflected. Today I plan to paint the third painting. It was taken at 6pm and is much more subdued and almost monotone. My challenge will be to make it vibrant.

 

5 Responses to “February 8, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    LIke Monet and the haystack paintings. Neat exercise, Linda!

  2. I was thinking Monet and Rouen Cathedral 🙂 Can’t wait to see the third painting!

    • When I have painted a series in the past it has been based on the subject or idea (like primary colors or St Brigit’s Cross). I have really enjoyed using the basically the same drawing in these three paintings.

  3. Very nice use of letting the paper come through.
    I some times get too carried away with trying to cover every inch. .


Leave a Reply

