Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 6, 2010 February 7, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:12 am
Tags: , , , ,

Hurray! I finished my painting in time for Irina’s class on Tuesday. I went through the photographs I took in Heidelberg and selected a photo of St Ignatius on the Jesuit Church just off the Hauptstrasse.

St Ignatius, Jesuit Church, Heidelberg

I swapped this piece for the draped figure in my drawing (February 2, 2010 Post) and began to paint. I painted all around the statue saving it for last. There were times when I thought I had messed up beyond recovery but I kept moving forward and , in the end, I am quite happy with the painting. I had tremendous difficulty with both the drawing and the painting of the window. I painted the statue last and decided that, even though the real statue is gilded wood, my painting required color. Many of the niche statues in Heidelberg have color so this was not inappropriate. ( I wonder if they are ceramic!)  Now I will wait hopefully for Irina’s comments…

St Ignatius, The Painting

 

5 Responses to “February 6, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I like how you handled the brick with some of them being distinct and others less so. Your niche figure is very colorful and that lends to showing off the drapery you were to incorporate into the piece. Windows are hard and I think you did a fine job with them.

  2. tumpahruah123 Says:

    This is very nice! I like the colors!


Leave a Reply

