Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 3, 2010 February 4, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:18 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Well I laid out my sheet of Yupo and thought let’s give this another try. This time I painted in a slower more deliberate way trying to make Linda’s art rather than someone else’s art. This time I used acrylic rather than watercolor. I almost never use acrylic and I have only 3 primary, 2 secondary and 2 neutral colors to work with. That is probably a good thing. I know that acrylic cannot be washed from Yupo like watercolor so I needed to think as I painted since I was “committed”. Limit spontaneity! Acrylic like oil is more forgiving than watercolor so I thought “Just do it! One foot in front of the other! Forward March!”  I worked for several hours (full sheet painting) and then thought, “you know this could almost be an Impressionist painting rather than an abstract”. I pursued this and then let the painting sit for a cooling off period. Last night I decided that I did not really like that approach and started moving back to abstract. The painting is close to being finished.

During my last period of assessment I had wet paint still available. One of my friends is always talking about the cruciform design of paintings so I decided to use the paint to play with this concept while the little gray cells were ruminating. I finished Flaming Cruciform late last night. I shifted the cross slightly off center but not much. I know this is supposed to be bad design but is it THAT bad? Would a shift have made it better? Where to? Would you have done more to “finish” it?

Flaming Cruciform

 

2 Responses to “February 3, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I believe a painting is an expression.It reflects where we our in our skill and our understanding of the medium and surfaces we chooeseto create on. The way I understand it is the cruciform can be used as a design element that we arrange or values around. This would be your interpretation and it’s fine. The more we learn, the more that changes.
    Hey……I see a figure of a female flamenco dancer walking forward in this, arms outstretched and head tilted looking to the left of the page as I look at this.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    That is are in our skill.


Leave a Reply

