Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 2, 2010 February 3, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:46 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Drawing Class with Irina today and she gave us a very interesting exercise. She laid out photographs of buildings and landscapes and set-up a dressmaker’s dummy draped with fabric. Our task was to make a good composition using our imagination, our photo and the fabric, dummy or both.

Photo source for drawing 02022010

I chose this photo because I liked the colors in the old stones and buildings. When Ken and I lived in Heidelberg, I was fascinated by the beautiful little religious statues that were displayed in niches on the corners of buildings on the High Street so I decided to use the draped manikin as inspiration for a draped figure.

After "using my imagination"

Irina was happy with the composition and encouraged me to paint it. I think I will crop more off the right side and give it a shot.

P.S. Irina allows NO RULERS! Oh yes, and no Payne’s Gray – ever!

 

One Response to “February 2, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I like Irina.Your assignment is creative and you surely rose to the challenge. I think you would have fun painting this.


Leave a Reply

