Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 26, 2010 January 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:21 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been playing with ideas to do a painting in blue and white that celebrates the Colts but have not found anything that really fires me up. My “sketches” are really just doodles! I went to drawing class yesterday and hope to have a painting to show later in the week.

Hope this captures the exuberance I want!

The only thing I’ve moved forward is the idea for my painting dedicated to Dance. I worked on it last night and have some additional very rough sketches to share. I wanted something with three figures and I am not satisfied yet with this composition but I did “feel the fun”.

War Dance!

I also worked on more detailed sketches of each dancer. This is where the rubber meets the road. I know that I don’t have the motion and movement captured but I was happy with these as a beginning. I am trying to decide what their dress should be. I wanted everday women but their clothing cannot interfere with the feeling of movement.

Leap

I am not used to thinking about composition in this much detail because I usually work from nature or on abstracts. I am not used to preparing and planning like this. This is what I need to do to improve and so far I am working strictly from my imagination for this effort.

Dancing up a storm

I hope it comes to a successful completion.  No. Wrong thought! I know it will! And I AM having so much fun!

 

3 Responses to “January 26, 2010”

  1. Movement is so hard to capture for me, I try to put flowing hair, jewelry, or blur some of the edges. Comic artist are fantastic at this by using exaggerated body positions. You have done a wonderful job by making your sketch flow and not stiff and rigid. Great job and GO COLTS!

  2. Heather Says:

    Love the War Dance.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I know what you mean about coming up with the figures on your own. I just did that and it is a challenging experience.The fun thing is that I felt I was creating and renewing my creation the whole way. It’s like,”anything goes”. That feeling of freshness kept me going.


Leave a Reply

