Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 21, 2010 January 22, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:09 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Thursday was rainy, dreary and busy. I had a meeting, a luncheon and volunteered at the IMA (Indianapolis Museum of Art) in the afternoon. I took my colored pencils and small sketch book to the IMA since my husband and I were working at the Information Desk and I expected just a small number of visitors.

CP Sketch January 21, 2010

I decided to see if I could bring life and vibrancy to the non-colors black and white. I decided to do a portrait and I wanted the girl to look young, fresh and innocent. I built up layer after layer of color to get the blacks. I know I made many mistakes and I had no reference material to tell me what a nun’s habit actually looks like but I was able to very freely use my imagination. I was happy and wish I had time to do more.

Just a note. I scanned the sketches from the recent posts but the actual sketches are not as grainy and are more “crisp” than they look.

 

2 Responses to “January 21, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I can’t draw like this out of my head. You did a great job of young, innocent and fresh. You also managed to get black with your layering. Good job!

  2. Thank you, Leslie. I haven’t used colored pencils much and I really like the look you get for portraits.


Leave a Reply

