Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 19, 2010 January 19, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 11:56 pm
Tags: , ,

Well another Drawing for Painters class with Irina and boy did she give us a The Mad Hatters Teapotchallenge. Irina brought in a hand made ceramic teapot. It was made by an artist in Maryland she taught with. It is all angles and assymetry. Six out of nine people in the class are newbies and they were shellshocked! So was I but at least I knew that the key was to “just do it”. One women even went home saying “I don’t have a clue what I’m doing”. It was a challenging exercise  but I felt pretty good when I finished.

Drawing for Painters Drawing #2

I even had time to try a second set-up she had for us to use. The two bottles are hand blown and oblong in shape. They are really lovely with a nice light green color. Now I must decide which drawing to paint first. Will I get them both painted this week? I will try but I really want to continue to work on planning “Dance”!

 

2 Responses to “January 19, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I have to say that the teapot is interesting and I am looking forward to seeing what you do with it in watercolor. You are correct in saying “just do it”. It takes time for some to get over that apprehension that everything they draw needs to be perfect. Some of my favorite student drawings are so out of proportion that they become a beautiful expression of soul. I love when that happens! 🙂

  2. Irina owns the bowl that is pictured with the teapot. They are both red ceramic and the bowl has triangles in the base that mirror the big one in the teapot. It should be an interesting challenge.


Leave a Reply

