Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 18, 2010 January 19, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 11:26 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Which composition is the most appealing?

I mentioned earlier that understanding and improving the composition of my paintings is a priority. I decided to sit down with a newsprint pad and see what I could come up with using the two boxes from last week. I have two compositions that I prefer but I am really interested in what my fellow artists think. Please let me know by replying with the number of your favorite composition.

I also started thinking about a painting I would love to paint. I want to communicate the freedom and joy of dance. I started working on some VERY rough sketches to figure out how I could capture the feeling I want to share. I want to include three figures and I want to do a separate painting of the most interesting figure to donate to the Silent Auction / Gala for Dance Kaleidoscope. DK is the modern dance company that has enriched the cultural life of Indianapolis for the last 25 years. They are remarkable! What do you think? Have I captured joy and exuberance? (Remember these are REALLY EARLY Sketches!)

I Hope You Dance Sketch #1

I Hope You Dance Sketches #2

 

4 Responses to “January 18, 2010”

  1. I like number 7. There is some tension between the boxes, it’s like they are being pulled apart. Almost a relationship. A conversation…

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    I don’t know what I lke best about the boxes but really like the dance drawing with the two dancers. Joy and exuberance all over the place.


Leave a Reply

