Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 17, 2010 January 18, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 12:26 am
Tags: , , ,

Today I decided to experiment with the Canson 60 # paper I mentioned yesterday. It has a hard surface that I thought might be good for abstract paintings. By  experimenting and playing around I completed three small paintings today.

Abstract #1

The first painting started with dry paper and I applied paint directly from the tube in a chevron pattern. I used another piece of paper to move the paint around by pressing the two pieces of paper together and rubbing the top one around. I included Naples yellow in all three pieces because I have never used it and want to work with it more. I  then used my brush to apply some new colors and did a second “stamp and rub” to merge the color.

Abstract #2

For paintings two and three I soaked the paper and applied paint directly from the tube. For #2 I used basically the same process as for #1 except the paper started wet and I soaked the paper again after the color was laid down. I then tilted the paper moving the paint around slightly.

Abstract #3

For painting three, I used the same basic process, except I used paper and brush to drag color up and down the paper and I used the spray bottle very lightly. I also intentionally stayed with a simpler palette.

All in all a good day. I hope all your dreams tonight are sweet and IN COLOR.

 

2 Responses to “January 17, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    I like the third one Linda. It makes me want to go back into it and bring out a forest of trees.

  2. Cagney Says:

    Good job on the Naples Yellow! I love Naples Yellow…’Naples is a staple’ on my palette! Love the work on paper…how did you find it? Did you like it? Have you tried gessoed poster board? You might have some fun results with that too.


Leave a Reply

