Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 16, 2010 January 17, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 12:56 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, I have to say it…How ’bout those COLTS!!!!

Ok, now that that’s off my chest… Yesterday I took the small drawing of an oriental head made in drawing class and did a 5 X 7 painting.

Angry Oriental Dude

Being a frugal ex-manager I decided to use a pad of watercolor paper that I bought on sale – who knows when. It is Canson 60# (why would I buy 60#????) and is a hot pressed surface. My watercolor paint just sat on the surface and there were areas that resisted the paint. Almost like Bristol board. Things were not going well…but I pulled out my handy, dandy travel set of Pelikan Gouache paint (not used since I was in Oberammergau with my Mother in 1991) and my problem was solved.

Believe it or not this is actually very close to what the masterpiece looks like, Including the weird hands that he intends to use to “get” someone. Painting this was fun and a nice break from the type of paintings I normally do. And Irina will be happy I did so much painting from my drawings.

 

5 Responses to “January 16, 2010”

  1. Alex Zonis Says:

    He is beautifully done, Linda! Very expressive, especially the hands. What is the size of the painting?

    I hear you about 60 lb paper… I occasionally find paper or other supplies in my work room that make me think “what in the world I was thinking?” I try to use paper I don’t like for sacrifice paper – next to a painting to try brush strokes and color intensity on, before putting it on a painting itself.

  2. Looks good! I wonder if copying Japanese etchings is some sort of universal Russian art instruction thing. When I was studying architecture in Ukraine, that’s what our drawing teacher made us do. At one point, I loved it! Making tiny true-to-original-size drawings of geishas and emperors and then painstakingly coloring them, including the microscopic sakura flowers on their robes…I almost felt like a jeweler 🙂

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Angry oriental dude is fun! I am still laughing! It’sfun to explore on those cheaper papers. Charles Reid has no problem with them while the rest of us struggle and try to find ways of making what we do on that paper look better. He would probably tell us we are playing in the pigment too much! lol

  4. Very cool!
    I have studied japanese martial arts aukido, jujitsu and karata in the past and samurais were a major part of the studies. They were very respectful in the living, and in death, and most drawings or paintings were done in this style that you have captured very well.

  5. Kimberley Says:

    I really like this one.


Leave a Reply

