Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 12, 2010 January 13, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 12:45 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Michaelangelo to his assistant, “Draw Antonio, draw Antonio, draw.”

I believe that drawing is the foundation for all art and that you can never study drawing too long or too hard. That said I did not always feel that way. Last year I wanted to focus on improving my paintings. I recognized that color theory and composition were weaknesses for me so I took a drawing and composition class at the Indianapolis Art Center. This class reawakened my love of drawing. I had forgotten how much I LOVED to draw as a child. Since then it had never been a priority – only a means to an end.

Yesterday I started a Drawing for Painters class at the Art Center. It is taught by a wonderful Russian women who has lived in the US for about 15 years. She trained in Russia at their Fashion Institute. The course was 6 years, 6 days a week, 9 hours a day. She studied drawing 3 hours a day. I took a couse from her late last fall and I like her classical, academic approach to drawing. She also paints beautiful jewel-like watercolors.

We had many with no experience at all so we had a simple set-up.

Class Set-up Jan 12. 2010

I made several drawings of this.

Drawing #3 January 12, 2010

I want to remember that this is a class for painters so I went home and painted from one of my drawings. I would appreciate any criticism, advice, critique you are willing to give. I WANT to learn and improve!

Painting from DWG for Painters, January 12, 2010

Then Irina had the more advanced (!?!?) of us draw classic paintings from postcards. I want to try a painting from of these today. I hope I don’t make mud!


 

3 Responses to “January 12, 2010”

  1. i like your boxes… i love blue… but i cant paint blue to save my life!!!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    This sounds like a fun class. I like your blue boxes. Nice depth created with your shadowing.

  3. Gretchen Says:

    I am genuinely grateful to the owner of this web site who has shared this impressive paragraph at at this
    time.


Leave a Reply

