Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 9, 2010 January 10, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 1:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well, I worked last night and finished my “Quiller” exercise. I was asked to paint 6 small paintings using Winsor Violet, Manganese Blue and Cadmium Orange. I was asked to make one color dominant, one intermediate and one subordinate and to vary values and intensity. I was reasonably happy with the results with one exception. The violet and orange are SO aggressive that I had a fairly hard time making the blue dominant. I am not sure I succeeded at all in this respect. Any ideas?

Just a note: the house in the third painting reminds me of “Green Gables” on Prince Edward Island. I had exactly the same feeling this painting gives when I was there. This was strictly an accident!

Watercolor Exercise - Triad Color Structure

 

3 Responses to “January 9, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Hi linda. Your little paintings are so nice and loose. You did fine on what Quiller told you to do. The one with the dominant blue would just be lighter than the others. That is called “high key” when it reads mostly light. Paintings that read mostly dark are called “low key”. If he meant that he wanted you to use the blue as a dark then just try phthalo or prussian blue. They will be strong enough. I think he is trying to impress upon you that you can use any colors to render a scene. By haveing you approach your subject this way, you are learning about the colors you choose to use. Paint on! I enjoy following you. 🙂

  2. Leslie,

    Thank you for your comments. I really appreciate your input. I have finished the “Quiller” assignment for today and will have something new to post soon. Thank you again!

    Linda

  3. kakakatydid Says:

    I have the Quiller books too and I have found them very valuable.


Leave a Reply

