Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 4, 2010 January 5, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 12:52 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Still frigid…still hibernating!

Exercise #3

Back to Stephan Quiller and Color Choices. This book includes a tearout color chart just for watercolorists. I am starting to use it to help me identify colors and complements for my practice exercises. It is very detailed and useful EXCEPT that I bought the book when it was published in the late 80’s and there are many new colors available today. I checked his website and I can buy just a color chart. Seems like it might be a good investment so my “tool” is up-to-date.

Exercise #2

Exercise #2

I am still working on the chapter that discusses the use of analagous colors with a balancing complementary color. I completed two exercises yesterday, once again using some of his examples for my drawing ( I was spending hours developing new “scenes” to use for my excercises! I am saving loads of time using drawings based on his exercises – and they should be appropriate, right?) With these two exercises I complete this chapter. On to TRIADIC color schemes!

 

7 Responses to “January 4, 2010”

  1. […] Halcomb did a similar exercise here. « Two Dogs and a Ridgeback Boo and Umbrella […]

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Hi Linda,
    I like your loose and wet application of pigment. Your scenes are transparent and refreshing.

    • Hi Leslie,

      Thank you for your input. I LOVE the possibilities of watercolor!
      I am just learning about blogging and browsing through the WordPress blogs looking primarily for watercolor artists. Any suggestions about how to do an efficient search. There is so much out there…

      Snowing here. I looked at your blog and love the energy and color of your artwork. Are you in Ft Wayne? Are you being buried in snow?

      Linda

      • lesliepaints Says:

        Hi Linda,
        How I started was to respond to the people who commented on my blog. Then You can click on your tag, watercolor, above and it will take you to a tagpage and you can click on titles of what interests you. If you like what you see of theirs, you can click on where it says HOME and it will bring up their whole blog.Or you can click on their URL at the top of the page and it will open their blog. When you are on a tag page you can use the search space to type in categories. I strongly suggest that on your posts you put: filed under watercolors and then leave your tag as watercolor. They are two different tag pages. The other thing you can do is check out the blogrolls of different artist sites you visit. They have favorites that they follow or put there for others to click on. If you look at mine you will see about ten other watercolor sites under a heading Watercolor at the bottom of each page of my blog. It’s in that long list.
        YES Fort Wayne and I’ve shoveled the driveway twice today.Slowing down now. We had about 6 inches.Not buried but a pain especially since it came down fast during the day.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    OH! You can also click on those tagnames of people commenting on others’blog in their comment section.I’ve connected with a lot of sites that way, also.

  4. Great little landscapes, Linda! I really like the one with mountains. Beautiful colors!

  5. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, these are great!!! Keep experimenting, cause it’s working for you!!


Leave a Reply

