Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 3, 2010 January 4, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 11:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

In Indianapolis it is frigid with snow falling and the wind blowing. I am huddled indoors, snacking on popcorn, watching the Colts shiver through the last game of the season and dreaming of the warm South. Like my idol Vincent…

In 1888 when Vincent van Gogh moved to the south of France he fell in love with the vibrant light i.e. the color yellow. His “high yellow note” added a glow to many of the 250 paintings he completed during the last 15 months of his life. Birgit O’Connor wrote an article for the January/February issue of the Artist’s Magazine titled The Golden Touch. In the article she discussed all of the different yellows that watercolorists are blessed to have available. After reading her article I got out my paints and tried out all of my yellows testing them for opacity, aggressiveness and the ability to make a lovely green when mixed with cerulean and cobalt blues. This was really fun and true hands-on learning. The information provided in Birgit’s article was very valuable.  Birgit included a small painting of three lemons that I used as a template to paint my exercise. Each lemon includes at least 3 different yellows. I hope they add zest to your day!

After a watercolor sketch by Birgit O'Connor

 

4 Responses to “January 3, 2010”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Beautiful lemons, Linda. Yellows are difficult to work with. You handle them very well.

  2. davidtripp Says:

    Oh my! THIS is what I want to get after! I have been avoiding still lifes but have recently been touched by Cezanne’s watercolor renderings of lemons and apples, and have considered finding a book to help me find my way. It sounds like you have some great resources there. Thank you for posting this and sharing it with us. I think that–thanks to you–I’m going to take this still life plunge (as soon as I finish this darned commission!).

  3. David,

    Like you I love the paintings of Cezanne. I have a still life with red tulips, a green vase and orange, red and yellow fruit around the base. I love it! and have moved it from home to home with me.

    I noticed you have “tagged” Wyeth. Have you ever been to the Brandywine Museum?

    Linda

  4. David Tripp Says:

    Yes, Linda, I visited the Brandywine, once, and wish to return. I have also looked at Wyeths wherever I could find them, and even stayed at the Henriette Wyeth/Peter Hurd ranch’s bed n breakfast in New Mexico a couple of summers ago. So much to explore! I was saddened at Wyeth’s passing nearly a year ago. I gained so much from his biography “A Secret Life” and so many books of his work I have accumulated. But I love many other traditions as well. I teach Art History, and it leaves me sort of A.D.D. I love Cezanne’s work and am now elbow-deep in a “Van Gogh” commission of three canvases with courthouses. So much to figure out!


Leave a Reply

