Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hello world! January 3, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:21 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I love art…art in all it’s forms. I hope to be an artist and the one thing I know – from reading, from discussing, from the gut – is that I must practice, practice, practice. Every day.

But life gets in the way so I am starting this blog because I believe it will inspire and motivate me to practice every day. You will hold me accountable and I hope you share my voyage of growth.

It is January 3, 2010. I made a commitment to myself that I will draw, paint, study, grow daily in 2010. I make the same commitment to you.  So, what did I do on January 1 and 2? Did I let myself down? Did I let you down?

January 1, 2010: I was inspired by the sassy, sidelong glance of a  young woman on the back cover of People Magazine to draw  the “Attitude” ink sketch. It is a preparatory sketch but I have  not decided what I am preparing for – a drawing or a  painting. I do know one thing I have more work to do before  I reach a final image. Older? Younger? Short Hair? Slick Hair? Arms crossed? Holding a coffee cup?

Why ink? Because it is unforgiving and  forces me to be disciplined and a bit more careful.

January 2, 2010: In 2009 I was able  to learn the bare  basics of color theory. I completed all the  exercises in the  book Color by Betty Edwards. Her exercises  were completed  in acrylic which is not my medium so I  decided to read the  book Color  Choices by Stephan Quiller, a  wonderful artist  who paints in primarily in watercolor and acrylic. I have  completed about 75% of the exercises. Yesterday I  completed a simple painting exercise that required the use of green, blue green, blue and red-orange (analogous colors with a split complement) to create a painting that was soft, airy and cool. The drawing is from his book. What do you think? I like the clear, clean color.

I have never blogged before and I am learning the best way to format and organize. I want your comments. No criticism is too harsh, no help will go unappreciated. On to tomorrow…

 

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. lesliepaints Says:

    Welcome to blogland and what a wonderful New Year’s resolution. I am drawn to your Stephen Quiller watercolor. Really it’s yours you know…….It’s simple and the shapes are really nice and your application is nice, also. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Kimberley Says:

    I like the simplicity. It makes me want to jump in and visit there.


Leave a Reply

