Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 30, 2010 January 31, 2010

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:18 am
Tags: , ,

Today was laundry day so I didn’t start painting until late in the afternoon. It was cold and I was glad to stay inside.

The first format I created when drawing for my Watercolor 101 class did not work. The drawing was too large and I didn’t have room to tape off the sides of the drawing. I’ve learned how satisfying it can be when you remove the tape around a painting and those crisp, clean, mat-like edges emerge so I not only tape down the paper, I also tape the edges of the painting space. One less thing for them to stress about!

I decided to work with earthtones. It is cold. I wanted to see if I could create a warm feel to the painting. I also wanted to work on composition and movement through the painting. I think some things worked and some did not but I was not unhappy with the painting. One of the things that I find the most fun and challenging with abstracts is deciding which “side is up”. I’m still not sure I’m finished rotating it. Maybe I will convert the photo to black and white so I can just look at value and forget about color!

Warm Abstract for a Cold Day

 

3 Responses to “January 30, 2010”

  1. Which “side is up” is always a challenge to me as well. I’ve decided that I’ll sign it based on which side I think is up, and then who ever ends up with the painting can decide if they’d like to hang it differently. For what it’s worth, I think I turn this one counter clockwise so the left side is the bottom of the painting. I really like the colors and the “flow” of the painting.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Hi Linda. I like your earth tones. I believe abstract art is one of the most difficult forms of art to produce. I often have to find something in the painting that drives me forward. So many times I get to a point where I think my abstract is done and it speaks to me and says, “not yet”. I always spend twice the time on an abstract. I think that is because I don’t do enough of them to really have a flow going in knowing how to express myself that way. It comes fleetingly and I usually have to be deeply inspired to finish one. Here is a post I found recently that I thoroughly enjoyed and it kind of deals with some of what you are talking about here. I found this artist refreshing: http://2a24.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/jonas-gerard/


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 208 other followers